new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Reaching out
2006-11-10, 6:06 p.m.

Right or wrong, smart or stupid, charitable or not, I finally did it. The plan I've been hatching all summer long to try to improve relations with Jeff's sister, that I recently decided to abandon, has been given a violent shove into reality. I figured that sometimes it takes a major event to cause a new page in the book to be turned. I sent her this message:

Hi Nikki,

I just wanted to let you know that Jeff and I are here for you and the girls and want to help out with things however we are able. I would've liked to say this in person, but Wednesday night didn't feel like the right time with all of the fresh stress and emotions flying around. Please call on us if we can be of any help or support.

I'm full of silly optimism, so even if you just need something to laugh at, we might be able to help you out there too. :o)

With love and prayers,
Heather*

I know beyond anything that if it were my brother, we'd be moving mountains and spending crazy amounts of money and time to get him through it and back on his feet. I'm afraid because I think SIL might have less of a problem taking reckless advantage of us, but I have to trust that either she won't try or we won't let her.

I refuse to help bail her out of a problem that she made for herself, which is at least 95% of her hardships, but I would never hold her directly responsible for something like this. It's not like she fell asleep and let her crack pipe roll under the couch (just an example of what I might not help her with in the case of an apartment fire... She doesn't actually smoke crack). I do believe she is at some fault for not teaching the kids responsibility and setting a good example in that arena, but that is a moot point now.

I hope she responds favorably and reasonably.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com