new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Can I get you some free food with your whine?
2005-04-19, 11:51 a.m.

So I went and got myself a computer with internet 2 weeks ago, and still I am an absentee diarist. How disappointing...
Anyway, so I do have an entry for today, but as I'm composing it in my head, I'm having a hard time deciding how to keep it from going in 5 or 6 different directions. If I go off on a tangent for very long, please forgive me.
As a foreward, I'd like to say that I understand and appreciate the need for aliases here in Diaryland. If I had done a better job protecting my identity in the last diary, perhaps I could have held on to it with a little less paranioa. That said, maybe I'll come up with some clever ones soon, but I don't have any now. I can't remember if I've used my own name previously; I'll have to check it out. Until then, as I write today, mainly about my husband, I'll use something non-descript and non-creative like "Honey."
On to the matter at hand. Yesterday was not a good day for my husband. I guess he had some trouble with some customers over the weekend and they decided that the best course of action was to call up and complain yesterday. I really don't understand why people do that. The consensus that I guess was reached was that the worst thing he did was to serve wine glasses with these people's champagne instead of champagne flutes. And even then, once he realized his error, he fixed it... All before the blessed champagne was even poured into these inferior pieces of glass. My understanding was that from then on the evening was tainted and after that nothing Honey did was right in the eyes of the customers. So what all else they complained about, I don't know. Why do people do these things? Well, in this case, I'll tell you why. Anyone who knows how this particular establishment works knows that all you have to do is put up an act of being very angry, come up with some kind of complaint and then milk it for all it's worth and you'll get a hefty (and I do mean HEFTY) gift certificate sent to you by the owner. The complaint can be valid or not, just so long as you really do it up you're guaranteed at least $100 in free fine dining on the house. It's truly incredible. Now, I understand if you really got screwed and someone really messed up badly; however, most of the time it isn't like that. Complaints can be as ridiculous as someone throwing a tantrum over not having enough cucumbers in their salad. That sort of thing does not deserve a reward and any sort of decent management team would know that. If someone is really going to stop patronizing your business over cucumbers or even the wrong wine glasses which you never even had to touch, then probably you're better off.
So anyway, Honey was very, very concerned last night that he's going to lose his job over this. Word on the street is that the owner was pretty preturbed and a federal case was made, complete with meetings with the managers, etc. He's been gone for work for about 2 hours now today already, and I haven't gotten any calls from him yet, so I assume that at least for day shift, he's okay. Personally, I think it would be ridiculous and the sign of an extrememely poorly run business if he gets much more than a write-up for this. Honey has gotten volumes more instances of positive comments from patrons than he has complaints. I'd even, maybe, be persuaded to understand if maybe they suspended him from night shifts pending him being re-tested over the wine list (apparently the owner was concerned that he didn't know the difference between wine and champagne). Maybe the customer is always right, but the management is asking for a world of trouble when they make a practice of catering to assholes.
This is the part where I wanted to break off and go on a tangent about religion, but I think I'm going to save that for now. ...At least until I find out how today went, because I think that will determine what spin I put on things. The bottom line is that Honey was very troubled all evening and is, in general, very worried about this situation. Between having the baby coming soon and this place being the shining star on his resume for the hospitality management career that he's trying to get together, it would just be bad news if things went sour. I told him that he should pray. I thought it might make him feel more at peace with things. I'm not sure that he and I are praying for the same thing on this one, but I hoped it would help him feel better. He's praying to keep his job, I'm sure, and he doesn't seem to have any faith in anything that this is a possibility. I'm just praying that things turn out all right, whatever happens. I trust that they will. God has been very good to us since we've started being good to Him again and I know there is a reason for the things that happen.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com