new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Stick to what you know
2009-09-28, 12:47 a.m.

Less than an hour into my birthday eve...

I had a conversation on Friday that agitated me and, in general, I've been able to write these sorts of things off since they happen at work and I'm already agitated at all of the bullshit that my job entails. This one has really stuck in me. I'm annoyed--nearly pissed off.

So, about 10 months ago two of my staff members started dating. We had previously known (we being me and all of their co-workers) that the two of them didn't really have a lot in common when it came to some of the major issues of life, or I should say "modern life." He's liberal and an athiest; she's conservative and a fairly hard-core Catholic. He claims to be "moderate" and "agnostic" because it pleases her and honestly, in my current view, because he's kind of a non-committing chicken shit. He's just started claiming "agnostic, leaning athiest." What the fuck is that??

I should lock this--I can see someone googling some of these statements.

Anyway, so the coversation started with him asking one of our newer shift-mates about her living with her significant other and how that is going and if they are similar or different on the things they believe. It just sort of digressed from there. Technician "A" eventually recounted how he and Former Technician "B" (moved to another department) have discussed their differences in beliefs and it was a problem for them for a while--especially when it came up how their kids would be raised (when/if the time came). B was adamant that she would raise her children in the church, and A was heavily concerned by that idea, should they also be his children. Resolution comes, however, when she later decides that she would not force religion on their future children. I do think that B would be smart to define the terms of force before the day comes. I suspect A and B have different ideas as to how much is too much or enough. B is satisfied with that... For now.

That, by itself, shouldn't really bother me, I suppose. And I guess that it doesn't really. In the context of the rest of the conversation, where I pointed out to him how his cynicism (perfectly in step with other athiests I've had experience with) towards religion borders on completely ridiculous. This, from me, is an incredible statement as I am in line for the title of the World's Biggest Amateur Cynic. He claims to be interested in hearing all sides--because after all he is agnostic and still deciding how he feels about religion, spirituality, etc. I pointed out that yeah, maybe he's listening... Perhaps he even hears what is said. That he is so vehemently opposed to "absorbing" any of it--end statement, because I was interrupted at that point. He doesn't WANT to absorb it, says he. Apparently he misunderstands my meaning in saying absorb and confuses it with "adopt." One who is truly set in their path and knows it is correct for them is perfectly capable of "absorbing" information, even when it conflicts with how they feel, without being changed by it. I've listened to the arguments about how religion, specifically aspects of Christianity, comes off more like Mythology than anything that could've possibly ever happened. Even at the height of my religious devotion, I conceded that though it might not be something I personally agreed with in all cases, or perhaps I think that the stories are based on a kernel of actual events that were then sensationalized, I can see how people would think that. Never did it change who I was or how I believed.

It's just really disappointed me in someone who I previously thought was a deeper person than apparently is there.

Then there was the political discussion that happened earlier in the week in which A said that B only enjoyed hearing me state the conservative side because it's what she hears all the time at home from her family and what she grew up on. The words and the delivery of them lended itself to him saying that she couldn't have her own opinion or think for herself. Either I've given her too much credit all this time or he doesn't give her enough. Either way, I'm still disappointed, for whatever it's worth.

So our parting words on Friday was me saying that we should stop having those conversations with eachother or in eachother's company because it has become obvious that we don't agree on anything and it makes me sad. This because, as I said, I had previously held both of them for separate reasons in high regard. I've come to find over the last 48 hours that it's not the mourning for the people I believed them to be that irks me but the disappointment and somewhat anger that has followed.

People suck.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com