new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Those who can, do... Those who won't, sleep.
2005-08-03, 6:26 p.m.

Back to the Pediatrician today. Jack now weighs 11 lbs., 3 oz.!!! He is 24 inches long as well.
Jeff and I have been having some issues lately as to who should be doing what when and what is expected of eachother. I'll tell you one thing... Last night, I felt like a single parent. Jeff went to bed for a "nap" somewhere between 7:30 and 8:30 (I can't remember what time exactly), and slept through the entire night. We'd both had a rough sleeping night the previous night and then he had to work yesterday afternoon but was home by dinner time. Normally, that would mean I get a little break for a nap or whatever. Instead I tried to talk to him about how best to be getting up and getting the three of us ready for our 8:45 doctor's appointment this morning. Somehow it turned into me saying "he wasn't doing his share." After that, he stopped talking to me and disappeared for his all-night nap. See, we're having a bit of trouble transitioning our morning routines now that the baby is here. Jeff's normal way of doing things is to stay in bed till the last possible moment because, in general, it doesn't take him long to get ready to go. However, now I need him to be getting up in enough time for both of us to be getting ready separately, which, yes is inconvenient, but otherwise my needs are pushed to the back. I tried casually suggesting this last time when I had to be out for my dentist appointment last Friday and it resulted in me standing around for 20 minutes waiting for him to get up so I could take a shower and not leave the baby alone in the living room. Yesterday, I decided it would be more reasonable for me to just state plainly what I needed and that I thought we should have a plan instead of waiting until morning and then doing the woman thing of expecting him to read my mind. I thought I was being very responsible and sensitive to both of our needs. Apparently, no, I was just beating him up. As it is, even after sleeping all evening and all night, he still hit the snooze on the alarm for half an hour which ended in me not getting to have a shower before we left. I told him that would happen, but I'm starting to think that it doesn't matter. It infuriated me last night when he said, "I'm doing all that I can." What does that mean anyway? In a month of being a mother, I've learned that what, previously, I would've thought I "can" do and what needs to get done are sometimes two different things. Obviously, what needs to be done takes precedence over what I think I "can" do so I need to re-examine my abilities. So until we've both modified our views, I guess he'll do what he can and I'll do the rest until I screw myself into the ground, pass out and die.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com