new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Gone with the Autumn Wind
2010-10-03, 10:14 p.m.

"I'm not asking you to forgive me. I'll never understand or forgive myself. And if a bullet gets me, so help me, I'll laugh at myself for being an idiot. There's one thing I do know... and that is that I love you, Scarlett. In spite of you and me and the whole silly world going to pieces around us, I love you. Because we're alike. Bad lots, both of us. Selfish and shrewd. But able to look things in the eyes as we call them by their right names."
--Clark Gable as Rhett Butler, Gone With the Wind

Speaking of such things, the scene containing the above quote, and the other dialogue surrounding the quote are equally beautiful. I think I'm going to devote an upcoming weekend to getting through the whole movie sometime this month--maybe do some knitting or something and have a cup of coffee close at hand (pumpkin spice, maybe?). Gone With the Wind is one of my very, very favorite movies. If I'm going to get all weird and daydreamy over a work of fiction, I'd rather it be a classic--no offense, Twilight.

I was just thinking of that movie quote because of the idea of laughing at myself for being an idiot. Today I feel like doing that. It happens periodically--having days like this--it's nothing new. Just the idea of knowing things, recognizing them and being able to "call them by their right names," and not caring. Proceed with caution... Um, or not--your choice, you idiot. *sigh and smile cynically* Yeah.

On a less self-debasing note, I just put up my Halloween and fall decorations. As I never got the organization and decor really down to the way I'd like it in this house in general terms, my holiday decorating is twice as haphazard, but it's all out. If I'm still on this stupid shift when both the kids are in school, I'm going to devote about an entire semester to taking my daytimes and systematically gutting and reorganizing each and every room.

*Laughs at myself some more and ponders... Glass of wine or cup of coffee?*

Holy Hell, Heather... Jesus Christ.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com