new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

A Cheesy Entry
2006-04-25, 4:56 p.m.

As I mentioned before, I have been directed by my brother to read Who Moved My Cheese? which I have started to do as I am all caught up on my Harry Potter books until July 2007 when the last(?) book is rumored to be coming out. Funny, because the timing on me starting to read the Cheese book couldn't be more apt. We are having a significant cheese-moving episode at work right now. I haven't even read the whole story yet, so I don't know exactly what I'll get out of it, but I suspect that I'll be wanting to copy excerpts from the book to share at our meeting on Friday.
As it happens, the primary lab space that we use has always serviced three separate job functions. A short time ago, they moved one task out into the general lab area, away from what we may call the "special" area for purposes of being vague. That worked out fine because there was still one other function which we shared our area with the other group for. However, now they've moved them out completely and it's just us, and truly, 2 completely deserted, useless rooms which we have no immediate plans to utilize for anything. However, certain upkeep is required and that falls to us, along with all of the various side work tasks that go along with the "special" lab area. We used to share this extra work, but now that it is mainly my group's area, it makes some sense that we should be the ones to deal with the tasks, even in the rooms that we do not, and maybe will never, occupy.

Even before all of this, finding time for our usual sidework has always been a bit of an inconvenience, and lately it seems that we just keep getting heaped with additional requirements on our core job function plus more and more sidework. My thinking is that maybe we could be working a little more efficiently to be able to squeeze things together better. There isn't much time to be scrounged up, but there has to be some. It makes me laugh a little because of the four of us, we fall in a steady pattern from "Bring it on" on down the pike to "Can't you just leave us alone already?!?" I fall on the less extreme side of the latter thought process. I'm willing to move with this cheese, so to speak, and make the best of it, but I don't know how much more I can tolerate.

I've lost interest in this entry, as I'm sure many of you have also by this point. I've typed too much to delete it though, so it stays. Also, my son is awake now. I wonder how much longer until I can't help but seek my Cheese elsewhere?



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com