new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Anything that can go wrong...
2005-06-10, 11:29 a.m.

Have you ever had just one of those days? Well, of course, we all have and yesterday was one of those days to the third or fourth power for me. After only having slept for 2 or so hours the night before, I was actually feeling rather chipper through the better part of the day, or maybe I was just running on adrenaline from being a little ticked at the doctor for not caring so much about what was going on with me and then with all the other things to go nuts yesterday.
So, as previously stated, the doctor's appointment was a good news/bad news deal in that yeah, maybe labor is starting to get going (which, again, I only care about because of Jack's size), but no one cares. Came home to our non-air-conditioned apartment and our roasting, pissed off chinchilla, but alas... The maintenance guy did show up a little while later and replaced the filter in the A/C unit. Everything appeared to be fine when I left for work and the temperature was steadily falling to something that approached normal. Life is good.
I get a call later from my husband saying that he got home on his break about 40 minutes after I had left for work to find not only that the temperature had climbed back up to broiling, but that the vents were now blowing out HOT air!! Oh, for heaven's sake... So I spent the rest of the night at work worrying about what was wrong, how/when it would be fixed and whether or not the chinchilla would be dead when I came home (thick fur and high heat do not mix--they get heat stroke very, very easily). Well, Coconut is a trooper because she didn't seem to mind very much other than being one pissed off little rodent because the bags of ice we put in her cage were making everything all wet including her.
So fine, we both grew up without A/C so back to sleeping in 85-90 degree heat for at least another night. The maintenance guy was nice enough to leave us a box fan for the night since he couldn't get around to fixing the problem, for all the good that did.
Aah, but the fun does not stop there. I noticed yesterday that our computer seemed to be infected with a series of spywares that WOULD NOT delete. Not only that, but they were the kind that hijack your internet settings. In the end, I could barely get online, couldn't use AIM at all and kept getting a message from our spyware blocker that it was trying to change our homepage. My brother's answer, as it is to everything, was wipe the hard drive clean (back up the files you can't re-install, etc.) and re-install windows. He said it was easy enough. Maybe it is... Maybe it just hit a glitch for us... At any rate, we couldn't re-install our internet provider and Windows wasn't recognizing our hardware to use the internet. Honey was up until after 3 straightening that out, but, to my great surprise, he did it. That was a valuable learning experience, let me tell you. So I slept a little more last night, but am still pretty tired (woke up this morning to the sound of the maintenance guy getting started to work after letting himself in. I forgive him though since the new A/C unit seems to be doing its job).
TGIF, I hope



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com