new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood: Enthusiastic
Watching: Disney's Cars
Reading: Wicked

First time home-buying
2008-06-13, 12:30 p.m.

Wow, it's been nearly 2 months since my last entry. Since then...

Rowyn had her 4 month checkup, which polished off my medical benefits for her well-baby/immunizations for the year. Her 6 month and 9 month checkups will be entirely out of pocket. Can't wait. She's 11lbs, 9 oz and 25 inches now. 12 percentile for weight and 85th for length. You'd think that would make her look really disproportunate, but she doesn't.

Jack will be 3 years old at the end of the month. It's amazing what a difference a year makes. Last year at this time, he was still very much a baby. Now, he's a little person. I don't know that I'd want to have any more babies, but I wish I could have these 2 be babies a little longer. As cute as Jack is as a fully-functional toddler, he's getting so big so fast.

My work is fully in the throws of "getting worse before it gets better." It's just a mess right now. I'm really glad to have gotten my promotion, because it's about 100X worse for those in my old position. It's just painful to see things happening. It really is (I hope) going to be a "phoenix from the ashes" situation, but the fire's still burning strong.

Finally, and probably the biggest thing on my mind right now is that I am fully ready to buy a house now. It's really all I think about these days. Every time I go to work, I think, what's the point of working, of getting promoted, if I'm not going to put the extra money towards something important. Every time I look around home, all I can think is that this place is too small for us now, we need a house. Every time I look at Jack, watching too much TV because we don't have a yard and it's too hard for me to take him AND the baby to the park right now, or him running around in circles in the living room and knowing that I shouldn't stop him because that his his best "exercise," it just reminds me that we need a house. It's really just like a switch flipped in me (as it always is with all major decision for me). I went from dreading buying a house because of all the money and responsibility involved to not being able to start the process soon enough. I found a few online that I'm really interested in seeing and gotten a crappy, pre-qualification loan offer from a local mortgage company. Now we really need to get hooked up with a realtor to really make some headway. We've still got 7 months left on our lease, but I figure that gives us enough time to be a little bit picky and take our time with the process. Plus we have the option of renewing our lease next year with a home-buying clause that allows us to end our lease at any time in the event that we are purchasing a house (for an extra fee on the rent, of course). If we could wait until after the income tax return comes in next year, that would be perfect, but we'll see.

Time to get ready for work.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com