new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood: Pleased
Watching: South Park
Reading:

Cost Control in Parenting
2008-02-05, 2:04 p.m.

Today is a big day for me. I wrote and sent in the letter to withdraw Jackson from daycare today. Not only do I feel really good about not having to send him in for at least the next year, but I am also really jazzed about not spending that $150/month (which is the absolute minimum fee for our daycare--there is no other way to cut back). I just really hope that our system for using grandparents for childcare as needed works out. I can't say I'm not a bit nervous on that point, but at least it's family. My kids won't be able to say that they don't have any memories of their grandparents later in their lives.

Breastfeeding continues to come along. Rowyn is awake a little more often, so she's feeding a bit more. I've already got 2 bags frozen and I managed to pump about 4.5 oz last time. I'm assuming that's a good amount considering that her stomach capacity (according to the pediatrician) is less than 3 oz at this point. Sooooo.... Not only am I NOT paying for daycare soon enough, but I am also NOT paying for formula for as long as it lasts.

Recovery is also coming along. I still have some aches, but I am within about 10-12 lbs of my pre-pregnancy weight. Coping with lactation appetite is tripping me up a little at this point. I understand and am accustomed to pregnancy appetite, but now that she's here, I can never tell if I'm really hungry between meals or if I've just got the munchies. I'm determined to go back to work next month looking as good as I did, if not better than when I returned to work after Jackson. I tried on some clothes yesterday at Kohl's--I'm snug in a size 14 pair of jeans at 12 days postpartum. Last time I was wearing 14's comfortable at 2 months postpartum. I've already started doing some crunches and using skin firming cream to try to speed things up as much as I can.

Of course it's all very easy to do that now that she sleeps all the time. In about a month we'll see how much time I have for self-maintenance and housework.

I definitely fell energized and motivated so far, in spite of my reduced sleep. I hope it sticks.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com